Skip to content

not convinced on the T-Hub, but I hate the ad

July 5, 2010

I am somewhat annoyed at the latest Telstra advertisement for one of their new technology offerings the T-Hub. The T-Hub is to quote Telstra

“The Telstra T-Hub™ is so much more than just a home phone. Modern households require modern solutions and the T-Hub™ is perfect for a smoother running home.It’s all about being easy-to-use with its touch screen operation, cordless handset and access to a wide range of internet sites. Plus, with clever features like its digital calendar and multiple texting to eligible numbers, it’s sure to become the most useful item in your home.”

I don’t have the problem with the T-Hub per say, I can’t see our household ever getting one as it can’t offer us any unique abilities or attributes that our existing technology does not already do. I am no more likely to buy an Apple iPad either, some times I am often amazed how people will readily adopt new technology not because it fills a need but because of the fact that’s its new and supposedly the next cool thing, time will tell on both those items but that not what this post is about.

No I take issue with the advertisement and the use of Alexander Graham Bell the inventor of the telephone. I think that the ad is quite belittling to this magnificent inventor. I don’t know if Telstra think that in some way that they are actually paying homage to the great man, because they are not.

I have embed the You Tube clip above so can watch one of the advertisements in question and yes I use the plural because unfortunately there is more than one advertisement in this series. I also take issue with the use of the obviously many years’ dead Alexanders head in a display case. This might seem quite novel to any one who has not seen Futurama;  Futurama is an animated American science fiction sitcom created by Matt Groening (The Simpsons) and developed by Groening and David X. Cohen for the Fox network. The show is set in a modern America one thousand years in the future, it revolves around the Planet Express interplanetary delivery company and its employees.

But it is quite normal in this series to see many of histories most famous people’s heads strangely animated in a display case full of I assume is embalming fluid of some sort, Telstra wisely omitted this detail.  The following screen capture is from a recently aired episode and clearly shows Richard Nixon’s animated head, and thus I would presume that Telstra or its advertising agency have borrowed the idea.

There however is one other explanation that might explain it, and this might sound silly but bear with me, after all I am not the one trying to get you to part with your hard-earned dollars for a trumped-up telephone that can show videos of a cat playing the piano, or a handy adjunct to the want to be chefs in MasterChef .

If you are a regular reader of this blog and of course I hope that you all are but if per chance you’re not a regular reader here at this site  well that’s OK because now is a good opportunity to begin that journey, you would know that I recently attended the Titanic Exhibition and the Melbourne museum. Included in the cost of admission to this great exhibition was access to the wider museum of which I availed my self of, I love museums and exhibitions and it was while wondering along I came across this.

Notice that an item that was on exhibition has been temporary removed, well this got me thinking was Alexander Graham Bell head’s on display there and had Telstra as the oldest and Australian’s first telecommunications company asked to borrow the head for their promotion. Could this really be the head of the great inventor, I don’t know but if you look at the a real image of  Alexander Graham Bell below and the image from the Telstra ad they are very similar. Could it be that science has worked out how to reanimate the heads of the dead, it’s there hope for Walt Disney after all?

OK this whole post has just been a bit of fun and a prelude to a new article that I am going to post shortly on my visit to the Alexander Grahame Bell Museum in Baddeck, Canada. Plus I really don’t like the Telstra ad at all.

What do you think have Telstra gone too far? You may not know this but somebody else also took umbrage to a T-Hub ad, this time the one with the little kitty playing the piano. In a news article posted at news.com.au you can read the whole article here

Telstra has been forced to defend the treatment of a pet cat in a video filmed more than 20 years ago that it featured in one of its TV ads. The company decided to include the popular “Keyboard Cat” video clip in one of its ads for the T-Hub phone earlier this year.The YouTube video, which has been viewed more than 8 million times, shows Fatso the cat appearing to play a simple melody on a keyboard.But while he might delight bloggers, Fatso has rubbed at least one TV viewer the wrong way.After seeing Telstra’s ad, one animal lover made an official complaint to the Advertising Standards Bureau (ASB) alleging that it was cruel.

Common sense however has prevailed and the bureau has dismissed the complaint, saying that it “considered that most members of the community would consider the depiction of the cat playing the piano as humorous”.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2010 10:12 am

    I have come to my decision that your post head “not convinced on the thub, but i hate the ad @ now…” is well composed and I can tell that you are very bright.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention not convinced on the T-Hub, but I hate the ad « @ Now -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

